Company insider dossier

Marathon Petroleum Corp insider intelligence

MPC filings assessed for conviction, transaction quality, insider breadth, clustering, freshness, and price confirmation.

44/100

Balanced insider tape

86/100 confidence
Exchange
NYSE
Sector
Energy
Industry
Oil & Gas Refining & Marketing
Latest evidence
31 Aug 2026

Investment committee read

Balanced insider tape

Acquisition and disposal evidence is mixed after low-information compensation and derivative activity is separated out.

Wait for clearer clustering

Evidence in favour

  • 3 distinct acquisition events survive duplicate and security-type controls.
  • Participation spans 16 named insiders rather than one filing source.

Decision risks

  • Qualifying disposal events outnumber acquisitions, although disposals receive a lower directional weight.
Conviction44Balanced insider tape
Confidence86Deep evidence
Named insiders16participating in the tape
Controlled events14directional common-share events
Acquisition value$830.0Knormalized amount
Disposal value$10.3Mnormalized amount

Price confirmation map

Weekly price with common-share events

Acquisitions and disposals are aligned to the nearest completed weekly bar.

395.93326.46256.99187.52118.05 Disposal ยท 31 Aug 2026 ยท $375.8KDisposal ยท 28 Aug 2026 ยท $156.6KDisposal ยท 27 Aug 2026 ยท $206.8KDisposal ยท 17 Aug 2026 ยท $2.6MDisposal ยท 17 Aug 2026 ยท $1.8MAcquisition ยท 17 Aug 2026 ยท $343.5KAcquisition ยท 17 Aug 2026 ยท $238.7KDisposal ยท 13 Aug 2026 ยท $875.0KDisposal ยท 12 Aug 2026 ยท $2.1MDisposal ยท 3 Aug 2026 ยท $283.1KDisposal ยท 4 Jun 2026 ยท $1.3MDisposal ยท 4 Jun 2026 ยท $368.7KAcquisition ยท 4 Jun 2026 ยท $247.9KDisposal ยท 13 May 2026 ยท $250.0KAcquisition ยท 30 Apr 2026 ยท Not reportedAcquisition ยท 30 Apr 2026 ยท Not reportedAcquisition ยท 30 Apr 2026 ยท Not reportedAcquisition ยท 30 Apr 2026 ยท Not reportedAcquisition ยท 30 Apr 2026 ยท Not reportedAcquisition ยท 30 Apr 2026 ยท Not reportedAcquisition ยท 30 Apr 2026 ยท Not reportedAcquisition ยท 30 Apr 2026 ยท Not reportedAcquisition ยท 30 Apr 2026 ยท Not reportedAcquisition ยท 30 Apr 2026 ยท Not reported
Mar 2025Sep 2026
Weekly closeCommon-share acquisitionCommon-share disposal

Market confirmation

Price and trend context

Latest close
395.93 USD
One-week move
+1.8%
Four-week move
+11.7%
Fair-value gap
+117.3%
Trend signal
Active
Relative strength
56.5

Directional balance

Controlled event mix

21.4%acquisition
Acquisition events
3
Disposal events
11
Net value
-$9.4M

Cadence

Twelve-week filing pressure

Volume shows attention. Controlled events determine direction.

029 Jun
006 Jul
013 Jul
020 Jul
027 Jul
103 Aug
210 Aug
617 Aug
224 Aug
131 Aug
007 Sep
014 Sep

Named participants

Insider conviction by person

BENSON, MOLLY RChief Legal Ofc & Corp Sec634 events
AL, KHAYYAL ABDULAZIZ FAHDDirector500 events
BAYH, EVANDirector500 events
CAMPBELL, JEFFREY CDirector500 events
COHEN, JONATHAN ZDirector500 events
ELLISON-TAYLOR, KIMBERLY NDirector500 events
PATERSON, EILEEN P.Director500 events
RUCKER, KIM K.W.Director500 events
SEMPLE, FRANK MDirector500 events
STICE, J MICHAELDirector500 events
SURMA, JOHN PDirector500 events
HENSCHEN, MICHAEL A IIEx VP, Refining414 events

Evidence quality

Security and transaction context

Common equity24
Equity compensation0
Options and derivatives3
Other securities0

Role architecture

Who is participating

Director10
Other or unspecified9
Other executive7
CEO and chair1

Transaction evidence

Auditable MPC filing ledger

Showing 1 to 27 of 27.

LYON, SHAWN MSVP Log & Storage, MPLX GP LLC
DisposalCommon equity
1000 sharesCommon Stock
$375.8KDirectional evidence
LYON, SHAWN MSVP Log & Storage, MPLX GP LLC
DisposalCommon equity
425 sharesCommon Stock
$156.6KDirectional evidence
BRZEZINSKI, ERIN MVP and Controller
DisposalCommon equity
570 sharesCommon Stock
$206.8KDirectional evidence
BENSON, MOLLY RChief Legal Ofc & Corp Sec
DisposalOptions and derivatives
5000 sharesEmployee Stock Option (right to buy)
Not reportedContext evidence
BENSON, MOLLY RChief Legal Ofc & Corp Sec
DisposalOptions and derivatives
7196 sharesEmployee Stock Option (right to buy)
Not reportedContext evidence
BENSON, MOLLY RChief Legal Ofc & Corp Sec
DisposalCommon equity
7196 sharesCommon Stock
$2.6MDirectional evidence
BENSON, MOLLY RChief Legal Ofc & Corp Sec
DisposalCommon equity
5000 sharesCommon Stock
$1.8MDirectional evidence
BENSON, MOLLY RChief Legal Ofc & Corp Sec
AcquisitionCommon equity
7196 sharesCommon Stock
$343.5KDirectional evidence
BENSON, MOLLY RChief Legal Ofc & Corp Sec
AcquisitionCommon equity
5000 sharesCommon Stock
$238.7KDirectional evidence
LYON, SHAWN MSVP Log & Storage, MPLX GP LLC
DisposalCommon equity
2500 sharesCommon Stock
$875.0KDirectional evidence
HENSCHEN, MICHAEL A IIEx VP, Refining
DisposalCommon equity
6011 sharesCommon Stock
$2.1MDirectional evidence
MANNEN, MARYANN T.Director, Chairman, President & CEO
DisposalCommon equity
908 sharesCommon Stock
$283.1KDirectional evidence
HENSCHEN, MICHAEL A IIEx VP, Refining
DisposalOptions and derivatives
4964 sharesEmployee Stock Option (right to buy)
Not reportedContext evidence
HENSCHEN, MICHAEL A IIEx VP, Refining
DisposalCommon equity
4964 sharesCommon Stock
$1.3MDirectional evidence
HENSCHEN, MICHAEL A IIEx VP, Refining
DisposalCommon equity
1372 sharesCommon Stock
$368.7KDirectional evidence
HENSCHEN, MICHAEL A IIEx VP, Refining
AcquisitionCommon equity
4964 sharesCommon Stock
$247.9KDirectional evidence
HESSLING, RICKY D.Chief Commercial Officer
DisposalCommon equity
1000 sharesCommon Stock
$250.0KDirectional evidence
AL, KHAYYAL ABDULAZIZ FAHDDirector
AcquisitionCommon equity
728 sharesCommon Stock
Not reportedContext evidence
BAYH, EVANDirector
AcquisitionCommon equity
728 sharesCommon Stock
Not reportedContext evidence
CAMPBELL, JEFFREY CDirector
AcquisitionCommon equity
728 sharesCommon Stock
Not reportedContext evidence
COHEN, JONATHAN ZDirector
AcquisitionCommon equity
728 sharesCommon Stock
Not reportedContext evidence
ELLISON-TAYLOR, KIMBERLY NDirector
AcquisitionCommon equity
728 sharesCommon Stock
Not reportedContext evidence
PATERSON, EILEEN P.Director
AcquisitionCommon equity
728 sharesCommon Stock
Not reportedContext evidence
RUCKER, KIM K.W.Director
AcquisitionCommon equity
728 sharesCommon Stock
Not reportedContext evidence
SEMPLE, FRANK MDirector
AcquisitionCommon equity
728 sharesCommon Stock
Not reportedContext evidence
STICE, J MICHAELDirector
AcquisitionCommon equity
728 sharesCommon Stock
Not reportedContext evidence
SURMA, JOHN PDirector
AcquisitionCommon equity
728 sharesCommon Stock
Not reportedContext evidence

Reading the dossier

Direction and confidence are separate

Conviction

The 0 to 100 score classifies deduplicated priced common-share evidence. Fifty is balanced or non-directional.

Confidence

Confidence rises with controlled event depth, named-insider breadth, fresh evidence, normalized values, and a longer observation span.

Disposals

Selling is not treated as the mirror image of buying. It carries less directional weight because taxes, diversification, compensation, and planned transactions can all create sales.

Price confirmation

The market chart tests whether the filing thesis is being confirmed or rejected by price, fair-value position, relative strength, and the current trend state.

Independent market research for education. This classification is not investment advice, a recommendation, a forecast, or an execution instruction.

Evidence context