Company insider dossier

Scotts Miracle-Gro Company insider intelligence

SMG filings assessed for conviction, transaction quality, insider breadth, clustering, freshness, and price confirmation.

77/100

Conviction accumulation

94/100 confidence
Exchange
NYSE
Sector
Basic Materials
Industry
Agricultural Inputs
Latest evidence
5 Sep 2026

Investment committee read

Conviction accumulation

Priced common-share acquisitions carry more weighted evidence than disposals after freshness, role, size, and duplicate controls.

Research constructive setups

Evidence in favour

  • 25 distinct acquisition events survive duplicate and security-type controls.
  • Participation spans 16 named insiders rather than one filing source.
  • The latest qualifying evidence is fresh, dated 05 Sep 2026.

Decision risks

  • Reported purpose is unavailable in this feed, so even priced common-share transactions need filing context.
Conviction77Conviction accumulation
Confidence94Deep evidence
Named insiders16participating in the tape
Controlled events32directional common-share events
Acquisition value$736.1Knormalized amount
Disposal value$3.3Mnormalized amount

Price confirmation map

Weekly price with common-share events

Acquisitions and disposals are aligned to the nearest completed weekly bar.

70.2264.7959.3653.9248.49 Disposal ยท 5 Sep 2026 ยท $691.7KAcquisition ยท 31 Aug 2026 ยท $217Acquisition ยท 31 Aug 2026 ยท $150Disposal ยท 10 Aug 2026 ยท $51.2KDisposal ยท 3 Aug 2026 ยท $1.9MDisposal ยท 3 Aug 2026 ยท $82.3KAcquisition ยท 31 Jul 2026 ยท $5.0KAcquisition ยท 31 Jul 2026 ยท $217Acquisition ยท 31 Jul 2026 ยท $150Disposal ยท 30 Jul 2026 ยท $80.0KAcquisition ยท 1 Jul 2026 ยท Not reportedAcquisition ยท 1 Jul 2026 ยท Not reportedAcquisition ยท 1 Jul 2026 ยท $28.8KAcquisition ยท 1 Jul 2026 ยท $7.2KAcquisition ยท 30 Jun 2026 ยท $5.0KAcquisition ยท 30 Jun 2026 ยท $217Acquisition ยท 30 Jun 2026 ยท $150Acquisition ยท 29 May 2026 ยท $5.0KAcquisition ยท 29 May 2026 ยท $2.0KAcquisition ยท 29 May 2026 ยท $217Acquisition ยท 29 May 2026 ยท $150Acquisition ยท 30 Apr 2026 ยท $5.0KAcquisition ยท 30 Apr 2026 ยท $2.0KAcquisition ยท 30 Apr 2026 ยท $217Acquisition ยท 30 Apr 2026 ยท $150Disposal ยท 28 Apr 2026 ยท $385.5KAcquisition ยท 1 Apr 2026 ยท $28.8KAcquisition ยท 1 Apr 2026 ยท $6.8KAcquisition ยท 1 Apr 2026 ยท $366Acquisition ยท 31 Mar 2026 ยท $5.0KAcquisition ยท 31 Mar 2026 ยท $2.0KAcquisition ยท 31 Mar 2026 ยท $217Acquisition ยท 31 Mar 2026 ยท $150Acquisition ยท 30 Mar 2026 ยท Not reportedDisposal ยท 30 Mar 2026 ยท $38.3K
Mar 2025Sep 2026
Weekly closeCommon-share acquisitionCommon-share disposal

Market confirmation

Price and trend context

Latest close
56.47 USD
One-week move
-5.0%
Four-week move
-6.3%
Fair-value gap
-6.4%
Trend signal
Inactive
Relative strength
-14.3

Directional balance

Controlled event mix

78.1%acquisition
Acquisition events
25
Disposal events
7
Net value
-$2.5M

Cadence

Twelve-week filing pressure

Volume shows attention. Controlled events determine direction.

729 Jun
006 Jul
013 Jul
020 Jul
527 Jul
203 Aug
110 Aug
017 Aug
124 Aug
1631 Aug
007 Sep
014 Sep

Named participants

Insider conviction by person

HAGEDORN, CHRISTOPHEREVP & Chief Strategy Officer836 events
SCHEIWER, MARK JEVP, CFO & CAO836 events
SANDOVAL, BRIAN EDirector752 events
HAGEDORN, JAMESDirector, CEO, 10% Owner734 events
JOHNSON, STEPHEN LDirector674 events
BAXTER, NATHAN ERICDirector, President and CEO, 10% Owner647 events
AVILES, EDITHDirector500 events
CANDELINO, ROBERTODirector500 events
EVANS, DAVID CDirector500 events
HAGEDORN, KATHERINE LITTLEFIELDDirector, 10% Owner500 events
HANFT, ADAMDirector500 events
MIARITIS, NICKEVP & Chief Brand Officer500 events

Evidence quality

Security and transaction context

Common equity35
Equity compensation14
Options and derivatives0
Other securities24

Role architecture

Who is participating

Director26
Finance leadership16
CEO and chair15
Large holder8
Other executive8

Transaction evidence

Auditable SMG filing ledger

Showing 1 to 30 of 73.

BAXTER, NATHAN ERICDirector, President and CEO, 10% Owner
DisposalCommon equity
12023 sharesCommon Shares
$691.7KDirectional evidence
AVILES, EDITHDirector
AcquisitionOther securities
118 sharesDividend Equivalent Rights
Not reportedContext evidence
CANDELINO, ROBERTODirector
AcquisitionOther securities
77 sharesDividend Equivalent Rights
Not reportedContext evidence
EVANS, DAVID CDirector
AcquisitionOther securities
118 sharesDividend Equivalent Rights
Not reportedContext evidence
HAGEDORN, KATHERINE LITTLEFIELDDirector, 10% Owner
AcquisitionOther securities
37 sharesDividend Equivalent Rights
Not reportedContext evidence
HANFT, ADAMDirector
AcquisitionOther securities
118 sharesDividend Equivalent Rights
Not reportedContext evidence
JOHNSON, STEPHEN LDirector
AcquisitionOther securities
155 sharesDividend Equivalent Rights
Not reportedContext evidence
KINGDON, MARK DDirector
AcquisitionOther securities
118 sharesDividend Equivalent Rights
Not reportedContext evidence
MIARITIS, NICKEVP & Chief Brand Officer
AcquisitionOther securities
72 sharesDividend Equivalent Rights
Not reportedContext evidence
MILLER, AUSTIN SCOTTDirector
AcquisitionOther securities
53 sharesDividend Equivalent Rights
Not reportedContext evidence
SANDOVAL, BRIAN EDirector
AcquisitionOther securities
179 sharesDividend Equivalent Rights
Not reportedContext evidence
SCHEIWER, MARK JEVP, CFO & CAO
AcquisitionOther securities
47 sharesDividend Equivalent Rights
Not reportedContext evidence
SHUMLIN, PETER EDirector
AcquisitionOther securities
170 sharesDividend Equivalent Rights
Not reportedContext evidence
SCHEIWER, MARK JEVP, CFO & CAO
AcquisitionEquity compensation
16 sharesPhantom Stock
$930Context evidence
HAGEDORN, CHRISTOPHEREVP & Chief Strategy Officer
AcquisitionCommon equity
4 sharesCommon Shares
$217Directional evidence
SCHEIWER, MARK JEVP, CFO & CAO
AcquisitionCommon equity
3 sharesCommon Shares
$150Directional evidence
SCHEIWER, MARK JEVP, CFO & CAO
AcquisitionEquity compensation
12 sharesPhantom Stock
$750Context evidence
KINGDON, MARK DDirector
DisposalCommon equity
831 sharesCommon Shares
$51.2KDirectional evidence
HAGEDORN, PARTNERSHIP, L.P.Director, 10% Owner
DisposalCommon equity
28793 sharesCommon Shares
$1.9MDirectional evidence
HAGEDORN, PARTNERSHIP, L.P.Director, 10% Owner
DisposalCommon equity
1207 sharesCommon Shares
$82.3KDirectional evidence
BAXTER, NATHAN ERICDirector, President and CEO, 10% Owner
AcquisitionCommon equity
88 sharesCommon Shares
$5.0KDirectional evidence
HAGEDORN, CHRISTOPHEREVP & Chief Strategy Officer
AcquisitionCommon equity
4 sharesCommon Shares
$217Directional evidence
SCHEIWER, MARK JEVP, CFO & CAO
AcquisitionCommon equity
3 sharesCommon Shares
$150Directional evidence
JOHNSON, STEPHEN LDirector
DisposalCommon equity
1171 sharesCommon Shares
$80.0KDirectional evidence
SCHEIWER, MARK JEVP, CFO & CAO
AcquisitionEquity compensation
4 sharesPhantom Stock
$272Context evidence
BAXTER, NATHAN ERICDirector, President and CEO, 10% Owner
AcquisitionCommon equity
29168 sharesCommon Shares
Not reportedContext evidence
MIARITIS, NICKEVP & Chief Brand Officer
AcquisitionCommon equity
16043 sharesCommon Shares
Not reportedContext evidence
SANDOVAL, BRIAN EDirector
AcquisitionCommon equity
420 sharesCommon Shares
$28.8KDirectional evidence
JOHNSON, STEPHEN LDirector
AcquisitionCommon equity
105 sharesCommon Shares
$7.2KDirectional evidence
BAXTER, NATHAN ERICDirector, President and CEO, 10% Owner
AcquisitionCommon equity
95 sharesCommon Shares
$5.0KDirectional evidence

Reading the dossier

Direction and confidence are separate

Conviction

The 0 to 100 score classifies deduplicated priced common-share evidence. Fifty is balanced or non-directional.

Confidence

Confidence rises with controlled event depth, named-insider breadth, fresh evidence, normalized values, and a longer observation span.

Disposals

Selling is not treated as the mirror image of buying. It carries less directional weight because taxes, diversification, compensation, and planned transactions can all create sales.

Price confirmation

The market chart tests whether the filing thesis is being confirmed or rejected by price, fair-value position, relative strength, and the current trend state.

Independent market research for education. This classification is not investment advice, a recommendation, a forecast, or an execution instruction.

Evidence context